Skip to content ↓

Y11 football team win Clegg Shield at Bramall Lane!

Published on 03/05/18

The Year 11 football team are today celebrating winning one of the oldest schools' competitions in the country.

They played the final at Sheffield Utd's Bramall lane stadium against Bradfield School, winning 3-1. This is a fantastic achievement, and everyone within the Westfield community is extremely proud.

The Clegg Shield dates back to 1889 and is currently sponsored by Vision for Education.

On their way to the final, Westfield beat Year 11 teams from the following Sheffield schools: Chaucer, Forge Valley, Yewlands, and then a tough semi-final against Tapton.

The Westfield team were drawing 0-0 at half time, despite having the majority of the possession, and then played a very strong second half. The first goal was a fantastic half volley from Harrison Foulstone that went in off the bar. Chad Gibson then made it 2-0 before Oliver Rowan scored the third goal from close range. Despite a late consolation goal the team ran out comfortable 3-1 winners, regaining the trophy back for Westfield that they last won two years ago.

Mr Birkbeck, Head of Westfield School said:

“This was a stunning victory from our Year 11 students. Everyone in the Westfield School community is immensely proud of them. Thank you to the whole squad, our PE staff and especially Mr Thompson, who managed them for this match.

“At Westfield we have a long and proud tradition of sporting success, so this result just reflects the hard work, passion and commitment that is embedded in our school. With GCSE exams just around the corner for these students, it’s great that they can take this victory and sense of achievement, and channel it into these important next steps in their lives”.

The full squad were:

  1. Daniel Brown
  2. Sonny Wilson
  3. Harrison Case
  4. Callum Geelan (Captain)
  5. Ellis Moore
  6. Brandon Wild
  7. Declan Eratt Thompson
  8. Oliver Stanbra
  9. Chad Gibson
  10. Lewis Slater
  11. Harrison Foulstone
  12. Oliver Rowan
  13. William Brothwell
  14. Ashton Harrington
  15. Jake Hull
  16. Danny Taylor
  17. Ben O'Brien